I received a phishing call today from a company called Lending Pro whose phone number is 410-774-8000.  For those who have never heard of phishing, it’s what bad people who I hope die a horrible death only to get their skulls used as soccer balls do to to get your personal information. 

This personal information is then used to steal some part of your identity, and while identity stealing is illegal, the punishment is a slap on the wrist, so many people do it, and according to the Verizon Unlawful Call Center that I contacted about said phishing activity that I received earlier today, they said it it was a perfectly legal phone call, since Lending Pro didn’t break any laws by feeling out for my information, they went on further to say that “The police in New York City have more to worry about than these types of phone calls and wouldn’t do anything about it.”

Call me crazy, but why is the law like that?  I mean, if it actually is like that, for all I know David at the Verizon Unlawful Call Center could have just not wanted to be bothered filing something on both mine and the publics behalf.  I mean shouldn’t it be an illegal activity to phish for info since phishing is how people gather personal info to steal identities?

Let’s use a different scenario, what would happen if someone were to call the White House and ask for the PIN codes for the nukes?  Wouldn’t that be illegal, or would it still only be illegal to use those PIN codes to launch a nuke? 

I dunno, the laws are crazy.

Anyway, now that I went off on a weird analogy….you would think that a respectable lending institution would have a website, but Lending Pro does not, nor does anything pop up when I google their phone number that I got by a simple *69, and since it’s apparently not illegal to phish for information, I can’t do anything about this other than pulicly state that I believe Lending Pro to be actively phishing for personal information for no reasons other than corrupt ones. 

So, Lending Pro at 410-774-8000, I’m calling you out.  Why would you “randomly” call me to tell me that I have a mortgage that has been approved when no such thing ever was? 

P.S. Bloggertrail.com (the other thing that google brings up with the number now) is completely bogus, and is a bot program that just cuts and pastes other blogs onto theirs.  Stay away from bloggertrail.